Software test leadership is alive in New Zealand!


New Zealand flagI’ve been lamenting the state of testing in New Zealand or more specifically test leadership. Now, I’m not talking about the number of test leads or managers – I’m talking about leaders in our community.

I felt there weren’t very many leaders with most testers here settling for a *just do my job* mentality.

Until last night.

Last night, Software Education held a customer evening by inviting customers to view Software Education’s new premises. I met some interesting people and had some great discussions and then it dawned on me – I’ve met some strong testing community leaders already but I had thought of them individually not collectively and I’ve discovered that there are more test leaders than I’ve realised. Now, when I’m talking about community leadership, I’m talking about context driven, lets discuss and debate and better our craft type of leaders (and this is irrespective of whether these leaders are part of the ISTQB certification program or what have you).

And so what I would like to do is highlight these leaders as testers to watch because in their own way, they are helping the craft grow in New Zealand. 

Farid Vaswani – Test manager at Auckland University, associate editor for Software Test Professional and implementor of SBTM at Auckland University.

Oliver Erlewein – Performance tester/test Manager at Datacom Wellington, context driven space, will debate or challenge the status quo. Weekend Testers Australia New Zealand facilitator.

Trevor Cuttris – Team Leader IAG – involved in mentoring and upskilling testers in many different ways (at work SIGiSTs groups etc). We had a good discussion around ET and SBTM.

Rob O’Connell – Assurity Consulting – very similar to Trevor. Lots of passion. Not willingly to accept the status quo if it provides no value. Mentoring, upskilling, uplifting and highlight the craft.

Katrina McNicholl – AMI Insurance – Christchurch based – passionate about the craft, about learning and about sharing ideas and thoughts on testing at the local level.

Tessa Benzie – AMI Insurance – Christchurch based – the same as Katrina – involved wanting to better the testing craft at a local level.

John Lockhart – Webtest Auckland – context driven test automation – *guru* with fitness – first met Jon through the AST BBST series of courses.

Matt Mansell – DIA – is involved in many different areas that result in testing being given a higher profile particularly in the Wellington market.

Honorable mention: Aaron Hodder, Shawn Hill (what an awesome presentation at STANZ 2010!), Christo Bence, Andrew Black, Sophia Hobman, Richard Robinson, Jonathon Wright.

Is this an exhaustive list? No.

Are these the only community leaders in New Zealand? No – but these are testers that I’m tagging that will have an impact on the testing community – whether it’s locally or nationally and will help improve the state of our craft here in New Zealand.

Have I missed some testing leaders? Most likely – BUT i hope you come forward, I hope you stand up and I hope you begin to share your passion for testing with us all (conferences, SIGiST groups, STANZ, blogs, twitter – the list is endless).

To those whom I’ve *outed* – it’s time to highlight the incredible talent we have here in testing – and its time to share the passion that you have with everyone and become …leaders.

Author: bjosman

Principal Consultant at OsmanIT brian.osman@osmanit.com

5 thoughts on “Software test leadership is alive in New Zealand!”

  1. Thanks Pradeep for your kind thoughts considering your role as test community leader within India, Weekend Testers (which is also running here) and the global testing community.

    Thank you for your leadership 🙂

  2. A very humble thank you to you Brian. I guess the old adage is true: it takes one to know one.

    I must say, anyone with passion and a voice can contribute to the development of the testing craft in some way. I am most grateful that we (collectively) work in an environment that fosters new opinions and differing points of view. All of this adds to the richness of the testing world. If you have something to say, say it. My experience is that others will listen, even if they disagree.

  3. Brian

    Mate just happened upon this – big ups my man, you have missed yourself off the list by the way!!

    I am willing to take things forward, and want others to come with me. What is good enough today will not sustain us in the future.

    Let’s grow the community together. Kia kaha. Waiting for that game pon the court, so you can show me how unfit I have become!!

    Rob

Leave a Reply

